Published on:

Driver Licenses From Nine States Won’t Be Valid IDs for Domestic Flights in 2018

Beginning Jan. 22, 2018, travelers from Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Washington will no longer be able to travel with only their driver’s licenses for domestic travel. This is because

State DMV IDs from these nine states do not meet the federal government’s minimum security standards. Consequently, under the REAL ID Act of 2005, all federal agencies, including the TSA, will be prohibited from accepting driver’s licenses as ID from those states.

In order for states to pass the federal government’s security standards, they must verify every ID applicant’s identity, put anti-counterfeit technology in the production of the card and conduct background checks on those who issue driver’s licenses.

Moreover, even if you do not live in one of those 9 states, to day only 24 states (plus Washington, D.C.) currently comply with the rules set forward in the REAL ID Act. They are:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • DC
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • S. Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

The following states have an extension through October 17, 2016 to become REAL ID Act compliant or lose their ability to be used for TSA identification:

  • Am.Samoa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • N. Marianas
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • N. Carolina
  • N. Dakota
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • Texas
  • Virgin Islands

The following states have an extension through June 6, 2017 to become REAL ID Act compliant:

  • Alaska
  • California
  • Oregon
  • Virginia

Travelers from REAL ID Act non-compliant states will have to get a passport to fly if their states do not upgrade their identification procedures on State ID’s to become REAL ID Act compliant.